# **Amateur Radio and Emergency Communication Opportunities**

# ARRL South Texas Amateur Radio Emergency Services (STX ARES)

SOUTH TEXAS ARES DISTRICTS	
D01	Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller
D02	Angelina, Houston, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, Walker
D03	Brooks, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Starr, Zapata
D04	Aransas, Bee, Jim Wells, Kleberg, Live Oak, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio
D05	Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, Leon, Madison, Robertson, Washington
D06	Bandera, Edwards, Kerr, Kinney, Medina, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde
D07	Bastrop, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Milam, Travis, Williamson
D08	Blanco, Burnet, Concho, Gillespie, Kimble, Llano, Mason, McCullough, Menard, San
D09	Jasper, Jefferson, Hardin, Newton, Orange, Sabine, San Augustine, Tyler
D10	Calhoun, Colorado, DeWitt, Goliad, Jackson, Karnes, Lavaca, Matagorda, Victoria, Wharton
D12	Atascosa, Bexar, Comal, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Kendall, Wilson
D13	Dimmit, Duval, Frio, LaSalle, Maverick, McMullen, Webb, Zavala
D14	Harris
D15	Cameron, Kenedy, Willacy



### District 1 Leadership: DEC – Keith Brandt WD9GET

Emergency Coordinators:

- Austin: Vacant
- Brazoria: Eric Schmidt KA5WMY
- Chambers: Vacant
- Fort Bend: Luke Bugler K0LTB

- Galveston: Curtis Tallman WB5UZZ
- Liberty: Vacant
- Montgomery: Gerald Messerschmidt KG5LM

ADEC AUXC/HCOHSEM Liaison: Walt Sepaniac N5TQ

ADEC Red Cross Liaison: Dave Underwood WB5HJV

Waller: James Sitton KD5JBT

#### District 14 Leadership (Harris County): DEC – Sherwin Klemp K5SEC

- ADEC: Ben Gillis K5TBN
- ADEC Training: Earl Pack AE5PA

#### Unit Emergency Coordinators:

<u>Northwest</u> <u>Northeast</u> John Sawyer KD5U Scott deMasi KC5NKW <u>Southwest</u> Wayne Johnson K5OB

Southeast George Fletcher AD5CQ

#### To become a member of South Texas ARES and receive an ARES badge you must:

- 1) Possess a valid amateur radio license
- 2) Possess a sincere desire to serve communications duty in the public service
- 3) Register as a new member with the South Texas ARES Section of the ARRL by filling out this form: FSD-98 at https://www.arrlstxvps.org/vault\_area/vault\_gateway/site\_gateway/vault\_profile.php

## Texas State Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES)

District 13 – Bryan District 14 – Lufkin District 16 – Houston DRO: Sean Ramsey KG5IRM District 16 – Conroe DRO: Joe Connell KB5DTS

District 15 – Beaumont: Brian Cater KC5YCM District 16 – Texas City DRO: Donald Deyo K5MSF District 16 – Rosenberg DRO: Luke Bugler K0LTB



**To join Texas RACES, complete these forms and send to your (DRO):** <u>Texas RACES Application Form and Texas RACES Criminal History Disgualifiers</u>

Find the forms on the Texas RACES group.io page: https://groups.io/g/TexasRACES/files/Forms